Answered By: Celita Ávila
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2015     Views: 50

Academic libraries such as the SAC Library generally use the Library of Congress classification system. Whereas Dewey Decimal starts with numbers, the Library of Congress system starts with letters. The letters stand for the general subject matter of the book, dvd or other item.

Dewey Decimal Library of Congress

Click through for the general categories and sub-categories in the Library of Congress system. Armed with this information you should be able to browse the library stacks more successfully!

But don't forget you can also search for specific items using the Library Catalog: You can search by Title, Author, Subject, Keyword or...Call number.

There are 3 floors in the library with books, dvds and other items:

  1. 2nd floor - Reference & Reserves - specialized dictionaries, handbooks, encyclopedias, and other reference tools and textbooks on reserve. These items cannot be checked out, but you can make photocopies.
  2. 3rd floor - Circulation - These items can be checked out.
  3. 4th floor - Special Collections - irreplaceable items, historical items, Texana collection. These items cannot be checked out, but you can make photocopies.

Reference, Circulation and Special Collections items are all cataloged and arranged by Library of Congress call number system. For example: ND is the general call number area for items related to art--paintings. If you're looking for dictionaries, handbooks or other reference sources on paintings, go to the ND section in the 2nd floor Reference area. Then visit the ND section in the 3rd floor Circulation area to browse and check out books and dvds on paintings.

Remember: Library faculty in the 2nd floor Reference area can help you find *exactly* what you're looking for, so don't hesitate to ask us for help!

Related Topics